Movies and television have more negative effects than positive effects of the way young people behave

It goes without saying that in this progressive and sophisticated world where we live with the ever-increasing rate of technologies that are being emerged, human beings' attitudes, behavior, personality, and lifestyle, to name but a few, have been changed dramatically. While some people hold the opinion that movies and television, as a form of technological advances that have been invented, have negative effects on the way youths behave, others stand at the other side of the continuum, believing otherwise. As far as I am concerned, I assume that the positive effects of movies and television outweigh its negative influences. The reasons to substantiate my viewpoint are elaborated upon hereunder.

To begin with, movies and television have broaden the scope of individuals' knowledge and information which has positively shaped human behavior. It is crystal clear that when people's knowledge and information on different subject matters enhance, their behavior will also change as a result. Undoubtedly, the more information a person has, the more positively his or her behavior will be formed. It can be vividly understood that young people try to grasp the knowledge they encounter through television and movies, and apply them in their daily lifestyle. An example can drive this notion home. When I was eighteen, I used to watch psychological and sociological movies and documentaries being broadcasted through the television. In that age, I used to be really arrogant, aggressive, selfish and disrespectful of others' feelings. However, I became interested in those psychological and sociological series on television. Gradually, I have recognized my deficiencies and holes in my personality. Having watched all those series, I overcome all of my negative behaviors and turned them all into positive ones. If I did not watched television, I could not have changed my negative behaviors at all.

Furthermore, through the medium of television and movies, young people can become familiar with various cultural values in every corner of the world, and adapt those positive cultural disciplines to become more humane. It is no doubt to anyone, that in each society and community, television and movies are being governed by some policy makers, so as to prohibit negative behaviors. No one is allowed to violate the rules and regulation and make series and movies that can negatively affect people's behavior. Being endowed with the opportunity to watch and receive invaluable information on various cultural values, people can take those cultural values, even if it is different from their own values, and be a better mankind. As an illustration, I had watched a twenty-episode-documentary about Middle Eastern cultural values, and I realized that some of their behaviors are radically better than ours. For instance, most of them used to tip the waiters and waitresses in a restaurant, and I realized that how such kind of behavior made those people look better. Or some other cultural values about being respectful to disabled people which is unfortunately absent in my country. Having adopted these different, positive cultural values, I made a better person out of myself.

In conclusion, having the aforementioned reasons and examples into account, I believe that movies and television have positive effect on the way youths behave. Not only broadening one's knowledge and information will positively influence their behavior, but also learning various cultural values can affect their behavior efficiently and effectively.