Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? It is more important to read or watch the news presented by people whose views are similar to your own than by people whose views are different from yours.

Nowadays, it has become very important for most of the people to be aware of the news by watching TVs or by reading newspapers. There are a plethora of sources which they can utilize to gain data. However, these sources fall into two categories, the sources which are similar to our point of view and those which stands against our perspective. Some people prefer to attend news’ offered by people whose ideas are similar to them, while others choose the opposite. Personally, I have a penchant for gaining information from those whose viewpoints are different from mine. I think this way for two main reasons which will be elaborated upon hereunder.

Firstly, not only will it helps you increase your information about the subject, but also expands the scope of your perspective about the very issue. By attending news from presenters who have different Idea, you will notice various horizons of the subject which you could not have become aware of If you have only chosen to look after broadcasts similar to your beliefs. My personal experience is a compelling example of this. Last week I was watching a sports tv program in which some specialists were discussing the factors which led to bad performance of my favorite football team. Before watching that, I was only blaming the players for the poor results. However, hearing the different views of the specialists which were broader than my limited way of looking, changed my mind. Therefore, I noticed that the couch of the team should be blamed, as well. As you can see hearing the different points of view, increased my horizons of my knowledge concerning the subject.

Secondly, It will reinforce people’s critical thinking. Everybody has a personal opinion about an issue, which is based on several assumptions. Not until they hear different outlooks of others, people will notice that there is not only one explanation of a phenomenon. This may encourage them to look for the premises which different views of others are based upon. They may challenge them or assumptions of the others may criticize their own beliefs. Therefore their way of thinking will be critical. For example, last year, in my psychology class I had a discussion with my teacher regarding the causes of anxiety. Both of us had a different explanation of that. I probed the fundamental assumptions which my teacher’s theory was based and I noticed that he is in favor of the school of thought which believes that people’s special ways of thinking result in anxiety; however, I subscribed to the Idea that some neurochemical factors initiate anxiety. That is how I challenged my teachers' way of thinking. This experience taught me that critical thinking will be elevated when hearing various and opposite points.

To sum up, with all this taken into account, I do believe that to follow news from sources which have variant view compared to yours is a good choice on the ground that it will expands your perspective, and stimulates critical thinking. Not doing so will result in a narrow, biased, and incomplete thinking.