No field of study can advance significantly unless it incorporates knowledge and experience from outside that field

I agree that incorporates knowledge and experience from outside the field can help us advance significantly. However, it is not a necessary premise for all advances in each field. The knowledge of our original field is actually the more indispensable base for us to achieve any successful results in any field.

Borrowing experience from other domains can help us to avoid some blind spots present in our field. For example, an athlete usually needs to train under the supervision of an experienced coach to achieve any high-level performance. However, the exactitude of every small posture in the sport can influence the results largely, which is a tough task even with the professional coach. Nowadays, after the emergence of well-developed technology on sensors and simulation software, an athlete can use the sensor to capture the trace of their movement, compare the difference between theirs and the professional ones and revise their movement with the aid of simulation software. This is a very successful example to incorporate technical knowledge into the study field of sport and make sport advance.

In the study field of chemistry, researchers also use knowledge from computer science to help them simulate the process of chemical reactions. In a large and fast simulation, researchers can find possible compounds that meet their demand and wealth of the following experiment to be conducted. The incorporation of two different domains can accelerate the advance of the study domain.

However, the premise of this kind of advance is strongly based on the depth of the knowledge of our original field. If the athlete has no tough skills in his field and only wants to gain performance by the technical sensors, it is definitely not feasible. If the chemistry researchers do not know well on the properties of the target compounds they need to conduct experiments on, it is no use for them to run any simulation even with a super-computer. On the other hand, if someone can research deeply in his field with his ambition and talent, he will probably succeed to advance without the aid of knowledge from other fields.

To conclude, I believe that the incorporation of pieces of knowledge from different fields really makes advance significantly, but it is not the only path to achieve it for every study field. The knowledge in our main study field is more important for us to study on before we incorporate knowledge from other fields.