Nowadays, children rely too much on the technology, like computers, smartphone, video games for fun and entertainment; playing simpler toys or playing outside with friends would be better for children’s development.

In today’s progressive and complex world where we live, there are plenty of determining matters that can be the building blocks in children’s development, and it is questionable which of the fundamental elements can be most influential on children. Some people feel that children today spend too much time on technology like computers or videogames, while it is better for them to play outside with their friends or with toys; however, others think that relying much on technology can even be helpful for children’s development as long as it is not addictive. Personally speaking, I concur with the latter group for some reasons, two compelling ones of which are elaborated upon hereunder.

Thanks to the genesis of technology, our world is dependent on it for every function that is taken. As almost most jobs and tasks today are based on technology such as computers and smartphones, it is a necessity for human beings to learn how to work with them. Relying on technology can make children an opportunity to get acquainted with primitive elements of these technologies at the early stage of their life since the mental environment of children is pristine and receptive to learn new things. In this vein, it can be a spark for them to become intelligent due to the mental development that technology can endow them. It is no secret to anyone that today’s employment institutes and companies are willing to recruit individuals who are specialized in working with technology like computers and the internet, children who spend their time with these technologies are more likely to be employed in such vocation in their future life. As a result, parents who are concerned about their children’ job future should allow their children to work with some technologies, like computers and the internet.

Furthermore, children who are occupied with technology, like computers and smartphone, are more likely to become more sociable than children who play outside with their friends. Technology has made way of communication easier, which can result in the strengthening of democracy. It is crystal clear there are several social networks on the internet available by computers and smartphone, and the discussion and the activities in different areas, such as cultural, political and social, can be helpful towards the flourishing of any community. In this vein, acquainting children who are spent their time on computers and smartphone with such useful social networks can provide an opportunity for them to learn how to participate in cultural, political and social activities, which can make our society more prosperous in the near future. Consequently, to make democracy strengthen, it is better to introduce technology to children at an early age.

To put it in a nutshell, having considered all the aforementioned reasons, I do hold that that children’s involvement in technology like computers and smartphones is not only harmless but can also be useful if used properly. It is because familiarity with technology at an early age can not only help children to find a decent job in their future life but can also be resulted in a more flourished society.