It is better for children to choose jobs that are similar to their parents’ jobs than to choose jobs that are very different from their parents’ job.

In today’s progress and competitive world, choosing an appropriate job can make people successful in the near future. In this vein, the issue of vocation has always been a preoccupation for people. Some people are proponents of the claim that following the jobs that parents and ancestors used to engage in is a better choice for children in their future; however, others stand at the opposite side of the continuum. Personally speaking, I concur with the latter group believing that children should choose occupations that are very different from their parents’ professions. My viewpoint is based on a few reasons, to compelling ones of which are elaborated upon hereunder.

The first vital point to bear in mind is that children should choose jobs in which they are interested, meaning that it is not necessary that children pursue the jobs of their parents and ancestors. It is no secret to anyone that when individuals occupy their favourite jobs, they follow them more incentive. Under this situation, motivation resulted from engaging in a favourite job can provide people with an opportunity to become a successful person, which can help them to have a prospering life in the near future. As a result, the more children are interested in their job, the more motivated they will be to become successful people. My close friend can be an explicit example of what I mean. As his parents are both chemists, they wanted their only child to follow their job and become a professor in this field. However, my friend had difficulty understanding even the simplest concepts and formulas of this field. However, his parents were insistent to convince him to choose this field when he would attend university. After years, although he is a professor in the chemistry field, he has an arduous life since it is not what he was interested in.

Secondly, following the same jobs of parents can dry out the inner talent spring and also make children a close-minded person in the future. It is obviously true that every person everywhere in the world has a specific talent and ability, which how making a decision can play a vital role in flourishing or smothering them in the future. When children blindly pursue their parents’ jobs, they will never unmask their talent and will never find out what they are really good at, or at least will sense it late. My own experience can be a compelling example of this. I’m a high-school teacher, a conventional job in my family, which I always feel I’m not good at. Last year, I attended a painting class, and the teacher of the class told me I have a vivid talent in this profession. Although I could feel this inner ability, I could never see this field as my profession since my age was at the stage that I could only consider it as entertainment, not a vocation. As a result of this, had I made a perfect decision about my profession at first, I would have recognized my talent earlier and in a better way.

To put it in a nutshell, having considered all the aforementioned reasons and examples, I do believe that it is better for children to choose a job different from their parents’ job. Not only do children may not be interested in their parents’ jobs, but they also may not be able to discover their talent and ability.