Teachers should not make their social or political views known to students in the classroom.

In today’s hustle and bustle world, it is no secret to anyone that every person views the world through his or her eyes, meaning that everyone has a different view of a point compared to others in various matters. It is noteworthy that there have been several factors that influence one’s views and opinions such as parents, teachers, friends, media and so forth. In this vein, there has been a controversial debate among psychologists about this notion that whether teachers should expose their social and political opinions in the classroom or they deny doing. I firmly maintain that teachers as the building blocks of one’s personality should not make their social and political perspectives overt to students. My viewpoint is based on a few reasons; two compelling ones of which have been elaborated upon hereunder.

To begin with, it can be as an impediment for students to extend their mind when teacher dictate or reveal their opinion or ideas to students. Students are in an era of their lives on which their personality and beliefs can be easily influenced by individuals and the situation, which they faced in their lives. It is noteworthy that students will be more likely to become a dependent and close-mind person in their near future if teachers make them no opportunities to stimulate and promote their mind. Under this situation, when teachers make their social and political perspectives known in the class, students learn only how to pretend and restate teachers’ the line of thought in the future without inferring from their opinions and beliefs by themselves. Imagine two classes, one class where has an active space so that teachers are not being allowed to state their social and political view before students reveal their opinions, and another class without such a situation in which teachers immediately make obvious their opinions. It is crystal clear that classes where provided students with opportunities to present their social and political views can make students more active in the class and eventually make them knowledgeable persons.

Furthermore, classes where students are allowed to express their social and political viewpoints without being clear teachers’ views and beliefs at the first can flourish students’ talent and help them to become successful persons not only in their future occupations but also in their lives. Even there are many jobs that need to individuals who can easily and elegantly declare their opinions and ideas about social and political matters, which means that people engaged in these vocations should have high expressive power in addition to sufficient required knowledge in order to succeed. In this vein, when teachers do not unmask their views, it provides students with opportunities to practice the situations are supposed to face. For instance, great politicians have surely learned in their graduation time how to foster their views and then disclose them to others. Had their teachers made their views obvious for them in the classroom, they would not have reached such a position at all.

In a nutshell, having considered all the aforementioned reasons, I concur with those who believe that teachers are not allowed to make their social and political viewpoints transparent to students. Not only does it provide students with opportunities to enhance their mind and become an open-minded person, but it can also help them succeed in their future jobs and lives.