Some people say that the Internet provides people with a lot of valuable information. Others think access to much information creates problems. Which view do you agree with?

There is no doubt that technology has been playing a paramount role in changing the human being lifestyle for decades. One of the most special of these technologies is the internet, which has sparked some controversial debates among scholars on its pros and cons since its emergence. Some people are proponents of the claim that the scope of information the internet provides us can be problematic; however, others stand at the opposite of the continuum. I, personally, hold that access to much information on the internet is very valuable. In what follows, I will delve into the most crucial reasons to substantiate my viewpoint.

First of all, access to a lot of information, in my opinion, has a fundamental effect on strengthening democracy. Indeed, the internet can play a main role in exposing corruption and keeping politician honest. In the past, there were only a few news outlets that were depended to politicians, which means that they had permission to publish only news that was in favor of them and no one dared to criticize. In contrast, today there are many news and information on the internet that are quickly published by various publicans. Almost many of them are independent valid media that are willing to expose political misbehavior. For example, an online magazine recently published a news revealing that a mayor of my hometown had taken bribes from a speculator. The report was so detailed and well-researched that the mayor had no choice but to resign. Although all knew this issue and the evidence was so clear, only this publisher was willing to write about it. This example demonstrates how access to a lot of information on the internet can strengthen democracy.

Secondly, the free exchange of information on the internet can motivate people to become politically active. In countries all over the world, people are members of at least one of the online social networking to share their information and opinions. While in the past, due to lack of access to the information and opinions of others, people might have thought they were alone in their beliefs, they can now realize that others share their ideas. My own experience indicates this concept. A few weeks ago, I learned that the government was refusing to purchase the anti-Coronavirus-medicine, which was vital for the health of people. This bothered me a lot because I saw some people passed away every day and others suffered from this fatal disease. However, I later joined a Facebook group dedicated to opposing the plan. When the members of the group found how many people in the country raged from the event, we were certain to get together and enthusiastically protest in front of the government building until our voices were heard. I feel that sharing information and finding each other on the internet gave us the courage to actively protect the health of our family.

In short, I strongly believe that the internet supplies a lot of precious information for us.