The extended family (grandparents, cousins, aunts, and uncles) is less important now than it was in the past.

As the world has been continued to complicate and develop, every aspect of human’s life has undergone a dramatic change, family relationships in particular. Given the paramount importance of the issue of the extended family, there has been a controversial debate among socialists over the idea that whether today they are still as important to us as they used to be in the past; however, I concur with those who claim that the extended family is less important now than ever before. To substantiate my points of view, two compelling reasons are being elaborated in the following essay.

To begin with, it is hard to deny that people today are more engaged in work than ever, which means that individuals have to spend more time in their office due to the hectic condition of the present life. Moreover, as there are now more jobs in big industrial cities, people have been compelled to emigrate from their hometowns and leave their extended family in order to make a living. in this way, we can see relationships today have taken a career-based pattern and moved away from the family-centred mode compared to they used to do. In contrast, since people in the past spent less time working on farms and in places where were close to their extended family, they had more leisure time to spend with them. In addition, most of the careers in the past were ancestral and family jobs in which all members of an extended family worked together all of the day, which results in the relationships had been strongly interlocked. However, the temporal and spatial conditions of today’s jobs have led to why relationships with the extended family become less valuable than ever before.

Secondly, since the advent of technology in particular the internet, human’s lifestyle has been subjected to several fundamental changes that relationships are no exception to this rule. Thanks to the internet and its charming environment, people today prefer to be alone to spend their free time surfing in the endless virtual world of the internet and entertain themselves in this way. As a result of this, no longer do people see their extended family and spend their leisure time with them as much as they used to. On the other hand, in order to have fun in their spare time, people in the past had no choice but to talk and be with their extended family. Thus, technology can be a compelling reason why the importance of relationships with the extended family is blurred today.

In a nutshell, I firmly hold that relationships with the extended family are inclined to be fainter now than ever before. Not only does spending more time in the workplace have a major impact on this process, but also the effect of the genesis of technology and the internet in particular cannot be ignored.