Nowadays many high schools and universities require students to work on projects in groups, and all members of the group receive the same grade (mark) on the project. Do you agree or disagree that giving every member of a group the same grade is a good way to evaluate students? Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer. Be sure to use your own words. Do not use memorized examples.

Depending on personal experience, personal experience, and emotional concern, I find that some people hold the idea that as a group to finish one project, every one should receive the same grade, from my view of point, it is better to give group members different grades according to their contribution.

First, without concerning contributions, some students will not involve in the project so that they will not learn nothing from this project. As we all know, all the projects designed and assigned by schools for learning purpose on cooperating with other students, who have various background, and learning how a complex project to accomplish by using what they learned from lectures or text books. But if everyone in the group will be given the same grade, some students may not involve too much and wait for others to finish the project, especially some just want to pass this class. Once in college, our professor signed a group project to design a computer program, I found only two of us devoted our time and energy to work on the project to achieve a good grade, others just want to get B or C. So they just watched what we are doing without any suggestions and help. Finally, our group got A in this project, but I know they even didn't know how to use our leaning to design it and find and solve the problem. In short, they did not learn anything from this project.

Secondly, with concerning contribution, it will encourage students to study hard on the project. All is know to us, students, who want to achieve good scores, will study hard on the lectures and textbook in order to contribute more ideas on the project. Usually, the group project is too hard for one person to finish it because it may require students to look for more resources to solve the challenge which they will meet. Once my brother, Tom, shared me with his exciting experience on his group project, the professor asked them to design and make a telescope to observe the moon. He only learned the mechanism how the telescope works in the lectures, but how to make it is unfamiliar to him and his schoolmates. Therefore, they have to look for where they can get what they need; meanwhile, they have to learn how to make some parts which they were not albe to find. Finally, they succeeded on this project. He said to me that he learned lots of things, which are not written on the textbook.

In a conclusion, for a group project, it is better to grade each student according to their contributions.