Nowadays many high schools and universities require students to work on projects in groups, and all members of the group receive the same grade (mark) on the project. Do you agree or disagree that giving every member of a group the same grade is a good way to evaluate students?

It is generally agreed today that doing a project during study at universities is a master key not only to increasing the knowledge of students but also to examining the information that they have obtained. In addition, grading their work which defines their quality in a course is a controversial issue. Due to its essential characteristics, there is a long-standing discussion among universities, some teachers support the idea that students work on projects in groups and all of them get the same mark and others are against this idea. Although it is a little hard to reach a consensus on this issue, I, myself, do believe that working in a group and getting the same grade presents a better outcome. It can result in effective work, constructive interaction among group members, and improve the quality of work by using new and different ideas.

To commence, one of the compelling reasons that proves my thesis is that teamwork is more effective than working alone based on many scientific types of research. On the one hand, students in a team can reach out to others to share their ideas, on the other hand, they can share the responsibilities and do part of the work. By doing so, they focus on a small segment and finish it at a right time. As a result, students learn to cooperate in the project by sharing new ideas in order to handle part of a project as a team member. In fact, it is the definition of teamwork that is an essential tool in today's competitive world.

Let us continue by considering the fact having interaction with other people can prepare the student for future life. It is worth mentioning that the goal of the education system is to prepare students to be part of a prosperous society as long as the development of a country is concerned. In short, working in a team can teach students the concept of living and surviving in a community in which cooperation always is above all. For instance, they learn many useful and applicable skills such as respecting others, attending social programs, and so on so forth.

Last but not the least, new and different ideas result in solving complex problems. When students participate in a group to do a project, it does not matter what they do, but the idea that they are sharing is important. Being part of a group motivates them to think about solutions. It is crystal clear that many rational minds are more reliable than one single. As an example, sometimes a simple idea or a comment can solve a significant problem like my friend's comment in our mathematics group. I recall that one time we tried to solve a problem, but we could not come up with a logical way, suddenly she said, '' gravity is negative'', by raising this fact, just a few words, she solve a big problem. To put it in general words, as long as people present some ideas in a group, they deserve to take an equal grade, because it pushes them to think and think

To draw upon the reasons, although some exceptions are excluded from the general rule, I supported the idea that student do their projects in group and all members get the same grade. This policy presents many benefits for students such as working effectively, having constructive interaction with other members, and motivating them to solve the problem with different and new ideas.