Nowadays, many movies or films are based on books. Some people prefer to read the original book before they watch the movie, other prefer to watch the movie before reading the book. Which one do you prefer?

There are many types of developing a movie, during the history of movies and films, directors and writers used different ideas in order to shape the body of their films, some of them are based on stories, some rests on books and some are just originate from the writers’ mind. The idea of creating a movie based on books came from the fact which is about running out of ideas for developing a film, by this way directors can attract lots of viewers for their films. In this way, some people are staunch adhere of reading the book which film is based on, before watching that movie, on the other hand, some enjoy watching movie before reading the book, I myself prefer to read books before watching movies, for two major reasons, and I try to explore the rationale behind my statement in the ensuing paragraphs.

Let’s start with consideration of the fact that is about the power of imagination, I myself love to conceive the whole story before watching the film, as books are always full of details about scenes and characters, to provoke our thoughts. By this way they can make the story more tangible and concrete. By the time I am reading the books, I try to imagine all things about their scenes, characters’ face, their customs and their behaviors and so on, in order to check my imaginations and guesses during watching the movie. Actually, I did this before watching “The lord of the rings” movie and I enjoyed it a lot.

Another significant proof which deserves attention is details that are exist in books and may be omitted in the movies because of different reasons, such as the duration of the films, their budgets and things like that, as I said before, I love to imagine the whole story and this cannot be achieved just by watching a short film, a vivid example that can be given in order to shed the light on what was explored is the movie of “Hobbit”. They had deleted different parts of the story, in order to make it short and brief, actually after all, the film duration was about 3 hours, but if they wanted to make it completely the same as the story, it would be about 10 hours.

To sum up, as I said before, reading a book that a film is based on it is an excellent idea as it will help to imagine different parts of the movie and also we can know about the whole story within details. So I suggest to read before watch in order to enjoy more.