do you agree or disagree with the statement?

University students should be required to take history courses no matter.

Universities all around the world sometimes force their fresh students to take some fundamental courese in various fields as their regular process. One of these subjects is history course. I myself firmly disagree with these kinds of obligation, for two main reason. the following paragraphs will elucidate rationale behind my statement.

to begin with, I think university students should just spend their time studying relevant topics to their major. An engineer should know about engineering procedures, mathematical models, solving scientific problems and so forth. forcing students to pass several irrelevent courses can cause deviation in their main track. for example, my brother's case can be good example which can shed light on this issue. He used to go colleges as he was younger and his main major was electrical engineering. I clearly remember that his university forced him to take some religious courses in his first semester. In fact he had detested these kinds of materials. Hence, his first semester grades were awful, and this caused him to have one of his lowest average grades in his whole university.

Another significant reason that deserves some attention is the fact that, you cannot be guided to the right track of your main interest by studying these kinds of materials, and sometimes you may hate the whole university. In fact, universities have an influential role for their students, and they should be the light of their professional way. By forcing students to take courses like history that is not related to their major, they just prevent their students to improve their important and useful skills that they should know them better than everyone else. For instance, I myself had the same problem, and this is one of my university rules that every student should pass history class during their bachelor degree. The professor of that class was awful; I remember that I did not listen to even one of his sentences. Sometimes, I did not go to university those days that I had history class and as a result, I did not attend in my other important classes, and the university was a horrible place for me.In fact, if they did not forced me to go that class, frankly speaking, I would be a better engineer.

Taken all these factors into consideration, Forcing students to take some irrelevant courses during their university times, like history, literature and stuff like these, not only deviate them from their main subject and waste their time, but also can make some students dislike the university environment and other useful material. what do you prefer? Wasting your time in irrelevant classes, or attending in high value classes?