The following appeared in a memorandum from the planning department of an electric power company.

"Several recent surveys indicate that home owners are increasingly eager to conserve energy. At the same time, manufacturers are now marketing many home appliances, such as refrigerators and air conditioners, that are almost twice as energy efficient as those sold a decade ago. Also, new technologies for better home insulation and passive solar heating are readily available to reduce the energy needed for home heating. Therefore, the total demand for electricity in our area will not increase—and may decline slightly. Since our three electric generating plants in operation for the past twenty years have always met our needs, construction of new generating plants will not be necessary."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The writer of the argument concludes that, regard to the rate of energy consumption that will be reduced because of people eagerness to save energy and new technologies and appliances that are more efficient, it will not be necessary to construct new generating plants; however this conclusion cannot be accepted as it is based on a number of erroneous premises all of which can be challenged in one way or another.

The first problem with the argument is that the writer refers to some studies but does not indicate how many studies or how many people took part in those studies mentioned. one of the most vital characteristics of studies and researches is about their sampling; greater number of participants has direct impact on the validity and authenticity of studies. Maybe only 5 people participated in each of these studies, so the outcomes of the studies are neither valid nor trustworthy. Another problem that can be considered as an important one is about the fact of generalization, in order to be practical, results of a research should have the ability to apply to the whole people of a society in different terms, such as age, sex, culture and etc. however, there is no evidence to show the validity of the sample and sampling methods used in these studies.

Another problem of this argument that deserves attention is the writer’s flawed assumption about the condition of twenty years ago and the following years in future, as it is clear for all of us, the population of every nations and societies will increases during a year or at least it can be said that it will not decrease naturally so we cannot conclude that the demand for energy will not enhance and it is not essential to build new generating plants. Or maybe by improving the level of technologies and augmenting its number increase the demand for energy. So there is no vivid evidence to completely prove the conclusion of the writer about new generating plants.

A third problem with the argument is that the writer assumes that people just utilize electricity for heating and cooling, but nowadays, there are lots of new devices that need electricity, such as personal computers, laptops, macro waves, dishwashers and so on, and by developing technology the number of these devices increase spontaneously so not only the need for electricity will not diminish, but also will it more than before. The writer also mentioned manufacturers that try to produce more efficient appliances, that increasing rate of the number of manufacturers and firms also depend on this energy. And it is undeniable that these companies need more energy than before.

In the final analysis, the writer’s conclusion cannot be taken to be correct because, as it was shown in the body paragraphs above, it depends on a number of assumptions each of which is questionable. The conclusion can only be accepted if the weaknesses already referred to are all removed.