Woven baskets characterized by a particular distinctive pattern have previously been found only in the immediate vicinity of the prehistoric village of Palea and therefore were believed to have been made only by the Palean people. Recently, however, archaeologists discovered such a "Palean" basket in Lithos, an ancient village across the Brim River from Palea. The Brim River is very deep and broad, and so the ancient Paleans could have crossed it only by boat, and no Palean boats have been found. Thus it follows that the so-called Palean baskets were not uniquely Palean.

The writer explains about the Palean baskets which were thought to be unique, but as well as archeologists discovered such a Palean basket in Lithos, he concludes that it was not unique anymore, because there was not any sign of boats in the Palea in order to cross the deep and broad river between Palea and Lithos. However, this conclusion cannot be accepted as it is in that it rests on a number of erroneous premises all of which can be challenged in one way or another.

Let’s start with the consideration of the writer’s flawed assumptions, he/she assumes that as no Palean boats have been found, there was not any boats in Palea at all. There is no strong evidence to prove this. Maybe because of the boats wooden body, they were all ruined during these years. Or maybe because of some undetermined reasons all of the dwellers in this village had moved to other places using their boats, so there was not any sign of boats.

Another problem with the argument that deserves attention is that the writer wrongly assumes that the only way of transferring these baskets is boats. In fact, there are lots of different ways in order to change the place of baskets. For instance, maybe different natural disasters have occurred like storms, tornados or things like that and brought baskets to Lithos. Or maybe some different animals or birds that have the ability of crossing the river via swimming or flying are the key points of this issue. Or maybe, settlers in Palea and Lithos had constructed a bridge between villages in order to transfer commodities and trading with each other that was devastated.

A third problem with this argument is that the writer assumes that the place of these villages didn’t change during this long period. Maybe there was not any river between these two villages at first and this river formed suddenly after a strong earthquake, or even maybe it was shaped gradually. Also it is plausible to say that maybe they themselves constructed this river. So this is not a logical point in order to decide about the uniqueness of baskets at all.

In the final analysis, the writer’s conclusion cannot be taken to be correct and reasonable because, as it was shown in the body paragraphs above, it depends on a number of assumptions each of which is questionable. The conclusion can only be accepted if the weaknesses already referred to are all removed.