“Over the past year, our late night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this time period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station’s coverage of local and weather news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news programs have just cancelled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to the program and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should restore the time devoted to weather and local news to its former level.”

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The writer explains about a news station and he concludes that they should restore the time allocated to weather and local news to its former level in order to avoid losing any further revenues through advertising; however, this conclusion cannot be accepted as it is in that it rests on a number of erroneous premises all of which can be challenged in one way or another.

Let start with consideration of the writer’s flawed assumption, he/she assumes that the increased number of complaints is directly relates with the short time that they devoted to the weather and local news, but maybe there are some other reasons that affects the audiences, and that was not a consequence of this shortness, maybe the poor quality of their performance on this part of the news has influenced people in a bad way, or maybe they don’t have a good sense about any other parts of the news that were added to it. Also the writer didn’t give any strong evidences and statistical information about the number of complaints.

Another problem with this argument is that the writer wrongly assumes that there is actually a connection between the shortness of the weather and local news parts with the reduction of the number of advertisements that local businesses used to want them to advertise during they program. However there is no evidence to definitely prove that this is the case. Maybe these local businesses found another program that they should pay less amount of money, or maybe they realized that they can use internet for advertising their product, as it is cheaper and more effective.

A third problem with the argument is that the writer assumes that they can gain profits and bring back their revenues by allotting more time to the weather and local news and make the program like its previous format, But he/she didn’t pay attention to the fact that they lose some of their viewer and they cannot bring their revenue back easily. Maybe they should add extra parts to their program, in order to attract more people and recapture their loss of viewer.

In the final analysis, the writer’s conclusion cannot be taken to be correct and reasonable, because, as it was shown in the body paragraphs above, it depends on a number of assumptions each of which was questionable. The conclusion can only be accepted if the weaknesses already referred to are all removed.