Over the past two years, the number of shoppers in Central Plaza has been steadily decreasing while the popularity of skateboarding has increased dramatically. Many Central Plaza store owners believe that the decrease in their business is due to the number of skateboard users in the plaza. There has also been a dramatic increase in the amount of litter and vandalism throughout the plaza. Thus, we recommend that the city prohibit skateboarding in Central Plaza. If skateboarding is prohibited here, we predict that business in Central Plaza will return to its previously high levels.

The writer of the argument recommends that they should forbid the entrance of skateboard users in the central plaza in order to bring back the success they had before; however, this conclusion cannot be accepted as it is in that bases on a number of erroneous premises all of which can be challenged in one way or another.

To commence with, the first problem with the argument is the writer wrong assumption about the connection of the skateboards popularity and the decreasing number of shoppers in central plaza. There is no strong evidence to prove the authenticity of this assumption. Maybe this wane is not related to the popularity of skateboarding at all, in fact it is a matter of the quality of their commodities that has decreased through these years. Or maybe the problem is with their higher prices in contrast with other parts of the city. Or maybe there are better shopping centers in the city which attracts most of their customers. Therefore, we cannot accept the writer assumption about this issue.

Another problematic assumption of the writer is about the vandalism and litter which is now common in the central plaza, the writer also connects this problem with the use of skateboards. This is also not acceptable as there is not enough information about people who has done these activities. Maybe these are the consequences of the night club that was constructed next to the plaza last year, people who attend in that club always are not wise and they committed these crimes. Or maybe some people have done these works in order to show their protest to the high price their goods.

Furthermore, the writer of the argument believes that by banning the usage of skateboards, they can return to their golden time. This assumption is also unwarranted and there is no evidence to support it. Maybe their loss of customer is due to the new malls that have both lower prices and higher quality. Even if he is right, maybe a new shopping mall is built next to them which attracts their customers during these years in which skateboards were not banned. As a result, they cannot back to good condition just by prohibiting the skateboards and they should do extra efforts in order to fascinate their previous shoppers.

In the final analysis, the writer’s recommendation cannot be taken to be correct because, as it was shown in the above paragraphs, it depends on a number of flawed assumptions each of which is questionable. The recommendation can only be accepted it the weaknesses already referred to are all removed.