Two years ago, radio station WCQP in Rockville decided to increase the number of call-in advice programs that it broadcast; since that time, its share of the radio audience in the Rockville listening area has increased significantly. Given WCQP's recent success with call-in advice programming, and citing a nationwide survey indicating that many radio listeners are quite interested in such programs, the station manager of KICK in Medway recommends that KICK include more call-in advice programs in an attempt to gain a larger audience share in its listening area.

Based on the experience of radio station WCQP in Rockville and the result of wide ranging survey that took place, KICK manager recommends that they should increase the time that is devoted to call-in advice programs in order to augment the audience number of their radio station because the survey showed that people are interested in these kind of programs; however this recommendation cannot be accepted as it is in that rests on a number of problematic premises all of which can be challenged in one way or another.

To commence with, the writer of the argument said that WCQP decided to increase the number of call-in advice programs and the manager wrongly assumes that there is no difference between now and those days. There is no evidence that show the equality of these conditions. Maybe people at those days have lots of snags during their lives and they need these kinds of programs more than ever or maybe there was not any other radio station which had call-in advice programs but today there are many different stations that have these kinds of advice programs.

Another flawed manager assumption is the fact that he is suggesting this plan just based on a nationwide survey. Although sometimes we can conclude and take some measurements based on surveys, we should be aware that the survey’s outcomes are always reflecting the average rate of people’s opinion. Maybe people of Medway that are the audience of KICK programs did not like advice programs at all, but as far as we look at the outcome we may make mistake about their point of views. Therefore, the manager must decide just base on the Medway’s people opinions.

Last but not least, there is no information about the KICK major programs, one of the most crucial aspect that can affects the audience of a radio station programs is their main content. Maybe KICK programs are especially about different sports and these kinds of call-in advice programs may cause deviation from the main idea of all programs. In this way, the radio station not only will not have any additional audiences but also they may lose their current listeners.

To take all the above factors into consideration in the final analysis, the manager’s recommendation cannot be taken to be correct because, as it was shown in the body paragraphs, it depends on a number of assumptions each of which is questionable and invalid. The recommendation can only be accepted if the weaknesses already referred to are all removed.