Nowadays, many movies or films are based on books. Some people prefer to read the original book before they watch the movie, other prefer to watch the movie before reading the book. Which one do you prefer

A century ago books were a primary source of entertainment. However, with the emergence of the cinema and facilitating of movie production, people change their taste and lean toward watching movies. In the competition between books and movies, some of the producers produce movies based on the novels. Accordingly, people who like both are in a dilemma whether they should watch movies before reading the book or vice versa. I adamantly prefer to read the novel first. I feel this way because of three main reasons that I will explore in the following essay.

First and foremost, author of a novel allocates a considerable amount of time to convey his imagination through words. For a simple perspective same as viewing a valley, as an example, a novel-lover should turn various pages to grasp the perspective. On the contrary, it is possible that the view just takes a second an audience in the cinema. By watching the movie first, you completely ruin the imagination that is going to be built through pages of the book. Furthermore, you would not motivated enough to read the novel after.

Secondly, watch the movie first means spoiling the book for yourself. when a friend comes to us and says that I watch the last episode of game of thrones, we usually cover our ears since our subconscious is signaling to the brain that he is going to eliminate pleasure of watching next episode. Accordingly, how could a one spoil a book for himself? It should be stressed that a group of people believes by reading a book, your are going to spoil the story of a movie too. However, I think that since watching a movie takes less time than reading a book, these to distinctive situations are not comparable.

Last but not least, people cannot place a confidant in the director of a movie which was inspired by a novel. The main goal of a producer is to maximize his profit. Accordingly, There are numerous examples of the movies that change many events of the book to catch the attention of the public. At the end of Norwegian Wood, written by the well-known Japanese writer, the main character of the novel suicides because of departure from his fiance. However, he marries her in the movie surprisingly. When a journalist asked a director what in the world convinced him to do this, he said that I thought the viewer would like it more.

in a nutshell, I prefer to read a novel before watching the related movie. I feel this way because of building imagination, distrustfulness of directors.