Nowadays people are more obsessed with buying material things like expensive clothes and cars because people judge each other according to their possessions

Some people believe that currently people are seriously focusing on buying expensive suits and vehicles, because they think these possessions can be judged importantly in social relationships. I also agree with this idea and would like to explain why people are interesting in buying these things.

First, the first impression is very important in people’s relationships and is easily judged by their fashion and cars. It is a reality that most people regard expensive clothes and luxury cars as the symbol of success and richness, even though this prejudice comes from luxury material company’s marketing. For example, I saw many cases that well-dressed people have better service than casual dress ones, so I also try to wear expensive clothes when I go shopping to a department store for this reason.

Second, I think that this addiction of buying luxury goods for their appearance is not a bad consumption habit compared to other addictions such as gambling, violence, drugs and so on. This phenomenon does not affect directly to other lives. In addition, this consumption of rich people can be helpful to boost an economy. For instance, I also used to be interested in fashion in my early 40s and spend much money to buy some luxury brand clothes for my satisfaction and better appearance. Even though now I realize that it was not so helpful to upgrade my career and it was over-consumption compared to my income, but I learned a lot how to spend money efficiently through the time and experience.

To sum up, due to increasing importance of appearance and first impression, people are more catched about luxury garments and cars, but it is natural trend in this modern society. Also, this purchasing for their looking is rather sound spending, compared to other serious additions. In this regard, I support the idea that people are more addictive in purchasing luxury possessions, due to other’s judge.