The number of people who are overweight is rising in Western society. Why is this the case? What can be done about it?

Overweigh becomes a serious problem for developed societies and calls for attention. The reasons for it can be the modern lifestyle and consumption of unhealthy food. However, there are some steps that we can carry out to stop the epidemy.

To begin with, the modern lifestyle includes reduced physical activity for people. By that I mean, many of us spend all the day behind a computer screen. Furthermore, after work the situation does not change much: we are being so tired that we are not able to do anything except sleeping or watching TV. As a result, an average person does not perform enough exercises to be fit. The unspent energy accumulates in our body in fats. Moreover, it is important to point out that lifestyle is not the only major factor. Eating patterns highly affects out weight also. To clarify, now people cook at home less frequently than before. In addition, the popularity of dangerous foods increased significantly. What I mean by foods here is fast food, pizza, products with large amount of fats and cancergenes. All of these make a contribution to obesity in Western countries. obese

Fortunately, we can try to solve the problem. First, we should try to increase the popularity of healthy lifestyle. This notion makes up for practicing sports and changing eating patterns. To make sports popular, governments have to provide everyone opportunities to practice sports that they prefer. This should be coupled with the propaganda of the active lifestyle. If both ways are excecuted, people will be more active that will lead to a decrease in the number of overweight persons. Moreover, the propaganda of natural products should exist as well. Humanity should pay more attention to what they eat. The focus should be moved to vegetables and healthy products. These things together can change the situation.

To summarize, these are major causes of overweight in developed countries. However, there are answers for those as well.