One can know a lot about a person from the type of friends this person has.

No matter at workplace or school, it is not rare to see small groups of people hanging out together, and this phenomenon raises an interesting question: whether or not can a person be known by observing the kinds of friends he has. From my perspective, the answer is positive. Information like interests, characters and even the educational background of a person can be acquired in this way. I will explain it one by one.

What must be prioritized is that people with the same interests tend to become intimate friends. As a matter of fact, it is having the same hobbies that friends develop a strong bond. Students are a good example. There are a large number of students who gains pleasure from watching animation, leading them to devote a plethora of time on engaging in online and offline activities. Another example is Marvel fans, who love to gather together to share various models of Marvel heroes.

Moreover, knowing the friends of a person enables us to perceive his characters. To illustrate, there are typically two types of people: extrovert and introvert ones. On one hand, extrovert people, who are talkative and outgoing, have a tendency of enjoying lots of friends; while on the other hand, introvert people are usually quiet, with a few intimate friends. In a TV show “Bojack Horseman”, the husband Mr. P, a typical example of extroversion, enjoys having parties with numerous friends. By contrary, his wife Ms. D would stay on the roof to talk to her friend in person about her happiness and sadness.

Third, not only can we know the interests and characters of a person, but also the educational background can be deducted. Imagine a student born in a noble family in the UK. Wouldn't most of his friends are from decent families and studying in public schools? What are the chances that this child is a good friend of a new refugee immigrant? The same principle suits the adults’ world. The better the education a person received, the greater the opportunities he might have. For instance, my cousin was graduated from Peking University. After graduation, he went to work in Shanghai and meet with his classmates, who were also his friends, once a week. They would share business and working experience or simply enjoy a good cup of coffee. Classmates from the same school became lifelong friends.

In sum, as a member of modern society, it is natural for us to communicate with those who share similar hobbies and educational backgrounds. An effective way to know about a person is to talk to his friend and to watch the way that the person interacts with his friends.