Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

The ability to maintain friendships with a small number of people over a long period of time is more important for happiness than the ability to make many new friends easily.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Friends are an indespensible part of one's life and happiness. Most of people are capable of keeping long-term relationships with friends and other might be able to establish a good rapport with strangers in a relatively short amount of time. In terms of feeling happy, I think being able to keep a close relationship with a few people is more important than getting to know many new friends.

People with the ability to maintain long-term friendships are usually reliable. What characteristics are required to keep friendships? The obvious answers are patiance, passion. It can be deducted that one with all these qualities can have control of many things in her life, and they will be more happy.

One can gain a lot from long period friendships. "Rome doesn't built in one day", so as relationships. Only by investing time and energy in the relationship can one build trust. Plus, the long time two person knows each other , the more they understand each other. Imagine some kind of emergencies happened, what are the chances of asking help from a new aquaintance? Most people would choose to call a close friend.

Granted, the ability of making new friends easily may bring excitement and make one popular. However, in the long run, these new friends might turn to be strangers again if no further actions were taken. Moreover, some people doesn't show their real character or interests when they meet people for the first time. The first impression is not always reliable.

To sum up, if one can maintain friendships for a long period of time, she can not only benefit more from it, but also handle a lot of things in life. The ability required to keep a long-term relationship is much more complicated than simply making many new friends, as the former requires one to be persistant and considerable, while the latter only requires one to show their best side for a short period of time.