At one high school, more of its students than ever before have been caught cheating on their homework assignments. For example, many students have asked other students to provide them with answers for assignments. The school is considering making a change to help decrease the number of students who cheat on homework. Which one of the following actions do you think will be most effective and why?

• Asking parents to monitor their children as they do their homework and confirm that their children have not cheated

• Increasing the penalty for cheating

• Asking teachers to create homework assignments that will make it more difficult for students to cheat

In education environments, always one of the controversial problems for masters and educators is combating methods for cheating between students in doing their homework. Over the years, many approaches have been considered to restrict and decline this behavior between students. In my opinion, one of the effective methods for this problem is increasing the fine for cheating, which can control this violation very well. I will elucidate my viewpoint In the following paragraphs.

Firstly, raising the penalty for fraud causes the number of students who help to culprits is decreased. In this situation, most students will not risk, and they will not collaborate with cheater students because if the answers of their assignment are similar to each other, there will increase this probability they are also recognized as a fraudulent person. As a result, conditions for cheaters become harder, and lead many of them to quit this offense; thus, the rate of cheating between students is declined. For example, I remember when I was going to high school, one of our teachers had given a hard homework to us and also had imposed severe penalties for fraud in that exercise. When I could not do them, I asked my best friend gave me her homework answers; nevertheless, she did not give me them because it was possible she found guilty and be comprised of the intense penalties from the teacher. After that, it was hard for me to find any other students to do this work for me; therefore, I had to do this homework myself, and after that, I gradually quit this behavior.

Secondly, increase the fine for this crime cause students less to go toward cheating because they should incur a lot of financial, psychological, and social costs for homework that they could do easier and earlier with a little time for studying and doing them. The fact that when the penalty increase for this crime, not only do they can see the consequences of their wrong way in the school, but also they teach a big lesson to other pupils, and everyone realizes the bad outcome of these activities. Moreover, at this age, individuals have very influence on each other. When one of them commences to give up this habit because of the high penalties; consequently, other ones are encouraged to follow them and abandon from cheating. For instance, in a report from one of the best psychology research teams, they investigate this problem on students 14 to 18. They designed some experiments and increased penalties for cheating in all of them in many different ways such as, introducing the culprit, hefty fines, or zeroing the course score. They could understand whatever the penalty has been increased; hence, the rate of cheating has been decreased. Additionally, they could point out, when students see the intense punish of cheaters, they go away around these activities. As a result, the cheaters give up fraud, and students are affected by this behavior of their peers and do not repeat this offense.

In conclusion, I firmly suggest to school principals and officials that select amplifying the fine for cheating as the best solution for the decline of the fraud between students. In this way, the rate of cooperation among the pupils for cheating declines because other students do not want to involve in this heavy penalty. After all, when the fine is high, students prefer to do their homework by themselves, instead of including a big penalty.