Parents offer money for their school-age children for each high grade

Currently, society has witnessed an unprecedented accumulation of material affluence, thus there is an increasing number of parents attaching more importance to their children's upbringing. Some of them give their children money as rewards for children's good academic performance in exams, while others contend that this behavior is detrimental to children's growth. Personally speaking, I concur with those parents' rewarding behaviors and my view can be substantiated as follows.

To start with, the money is and has always been an optimal motivator for students without stable income. Owing to children's instincts of desires for money, all children are yearning for earning money rewards, therefore they are prompted to spare no efforts to improve their academic performance, for instance, they are likely to do extra school assignments, asking their teachers for more profound knowledge to eradicate the puzzles or they probably enroll in some cram schools for further improvement of studies. Therefore, through all these endeavors, they come to realize that learning is meaningful, it is not only rewarding for money but also contributes to their future development, thus a virtuous circle is erected exerting long-lasting effects on children's academic performance. The research conducted to evaluate children's willingness of learning demonstrates that 88% student, promised by their parents to give money reward for their high grades, have made progress in their tests. Some of them even attain significant achievements in their studies. For instance, Rebecca, one of those testers, who always got passing scores in the elementary chemistry, improves her mediocre performance in this curriculums gradually. Each time she wanted to give up, she was reminded of the rewards her parents promise to render, thus her enthusiasm was evoked by the rewards and she endeavored to tackle with all perplexing problems confronted with her. This example illuminates that money, as a kind of optimal motivators, constitutes a stepping stone in students' enhancement of their academic attainment.

What's more, additionally, giving children money as prizes is conducive to their growth. Nowadays, with the implementation of the one-child policy, a myriad of children have been spoiled, which makes them unaware of the efforts they have to pay for earning a living. Some of them even splurge money on diversified needless affairs, like purchasing state-of-the-art electronic devices, recharging game currencies to kill monsters or upgrading their armors. With this kind of monetary rewards, they are entitled to explore their parents whole-hearted devote to the family and realize that the money they spend is supposed to be cherished. Meanwhile, since they are introduced to money at a tender age, they are rendered with an optimal method to mastering the money-management skills. Not only can they know that the money comes at a price of endeavors but also can they amass some information about money management, like depositing money in the bank for interests, investing them in products which can be utilized for years. Hence, money rewards can also contribute to children's growth in other domains, not just in the academic field.

Admittedly, making the use of children's desires for money is not without flaws. Driven by the desires, it is self-evident that they are inclined to become altruistic, nevertheless, this propensity can be suppressed by imposing appropriate parental control.

In a nutshell, from what has been mentioned above, it is a favored approach for parents to give their school-age children money as rewards for their eminent academic performance. For one thing, they, driven by money, can enhance their performance. For another, they are not only reminded of their parents' devote to their families but also entitled to grasp a bunch of money management skills.