Parents today are more involved in their children’s education than parents in the past.

As greater attention has been paid on education, the controversy that what role do parents play in children’s education has emerged, some contends that parents in the past with more energy and time were more involved in children’s education, while others jeopardize that parents participate more in children’s education. In my point of view, I’d like to agree with the later prospective for several reasons.

To begin with, the overall knowledge level of parents are higher now and that allows them to take part in children’s education. Specifically speaking, with the developing compulsory education system, an increasing number of parents with higher degree of education are capable of participating in children’s education, conversely large proportion of literacy before confirms the fact that people received less education in the past, not mention to be involved in children’s education. A recent online survey on Sina.com indicated that parents who are involved in children’s education has raised 25 percent during 15 years, this record literally reflects the fact that greater parents with the abilities to guide and teach children now are more inclined to participate in children’s education .

Furthermore, with the indispensable role of education plays in the whole society, intelligence-centered society prompts parents to pay more attention on children’s education than parents in the labour intensive society with large proportion of illiteracy. For the whole society increasingly value education, the more and more essential request of knowledge during working and daily lives render parents to follow this trend and to be involved in children’s education. Just think about the phenomenon that receiving education has been deem as the critical tasks for children gradually, while the public before generally regard as the exclusive opportunity for upper class of the society, meanwhile there were large number of illiterates among parents. Accordingly, it’s quite hard for most parents before to participate in children’s education.

Also, parents now are more ambitious to cultivate their children become somebody, and their big hopes encourage them intervene more in children’s education. With the higher status of education stays during society, parents with a wealth of experiences might perceive distinct seek for intelligent brain workers and tremendous demand on education, and the aware of importance of education lead parents to intervene more in children’s education. However, compared with parents now, the main hope of parents in the past was render their children to grow up with healthy bodies and mental. In this striking contrast, parents now are more likely to get involved in children’s education with the enormous hope for children’s promising future.

In a nutshell, parents are dramatically more involved in children’s education than before, not only because they possess higher general knowledge level, but also due to the social trend they are following and the ambitious hope on their children’s future.