Parents today are more involved in their children’s education. Do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, parent's concern is the issue of children's education and their academic future. In this regard, there is a long-standing discussion among psychologist about the level of parent's involvement in children's education. Some scholars believe that parents do not interfere in student's education and allow them independency in this aspect. Others, however, advocate the idea that parents keep track of their offspring's education. I personally, concur with the latter. In the following paragraphs, I will delve into the most important reasons.

To begin with, in today's modern world, parents are sophisticated and literate people, so the pay attention to the academic future of their child. They want their children become an knowledgeable person in their life and follow their parent's track. Therefore, they put all of their efforts to reach to this purpose.

Second, these sophisticated parents are able to help their children in education more efficiently rather than when parents were not literate. They passed courses their children have to pass and know the trends of education comprehensively. As appose to the period when parents were not sophisticated and they did not have any experience about the education. For example, I can recall when I wanted to choose my major in university. My father could help me a lot because he had a wide perspective about civil engineering which I was captivated in. He said me when he was selecting his major there was anyone know about different majors to help him. He said, had I had a good consultant during that period, I would made better decision for my academic life.

Eventually, these days the size of the families becomes more smaller rather than the past. In today's family, parents have only one or two children unlike the past when they have at least five or six offspring. In other words, because of the decrease in the number of the children parents have more time to spend on their offspring's education.

To sum up, parent are more engaged in their children's education. This is because the level of literacy in all societies increases which causes parents be concerned about their children's future and able to assist their children more efficient than the past, to name but a few. All the aforementioned reasons lead us to the conclusion that parents today are more active in their children's education than were in the past.