The following appeared as part of an article in a business magazine.

"A recent study rating 300 male and female Mentian advertising executives according to the average number of hours they sleep per night showed an association between the amount of sleep the executives need and the success of their firms. Of the advertising firms studied, those whose executives reported needing no more than 6 hours of sleep per night had higher profit margins and faster growth. These results suggest that if a business wants to prosper, it should hire only people who need less than 6 hours of sleep per night."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The writer of the argument concludes that in order to make a business successful, it should hire people who are awake more than 18 hours a day; however this conclusion cannot be correct because it relies on a series of unproven and doubtful premises that I will delve into them below.

The first problem with the argument is the writer refers to a study but does not mention its authenticity. We do not know who were observed in this study. Perhaps people were chosen from a specific group with particular characteristics or maybe they did not give exact information because they were afraid of getting fired for the sake of sleeping a lot. In addition, the writer does not mention the target population. As you know, in research studies the greater the number of the sample, the more reliable and valid the findings are. Even if it is assumed that the enough people took part in study, there is still another problem with the sample. In a research study, the findings can be generalized to the concerned population if the sample used is representative of the target population in terms of age, sex, social class, culture and so on. However, in this argument there is no evidence to show whether the sample used was representative of the target population.

The mere fact that sleep has a positive correlation with prosperity cannot suffice to show that people with less sleep hours are more successful. other factors can lead to prosperity such as knowledge, talents, salary, and perks to name but a few. Maybe if a business provide high salary with employees, they become motivated and work with more interest that causes company's success.

another unstated assumption the argument makes is that the whole business should adopt this policy. The writer should consider that attributing this property, which is the less sleep person takes, the more success he/she gains, to every members of the business is not reasonable. In other words, the argument should consider that 300 male and female might not be representative of the society as a whole. maybe the weather in this area is clean and not polluted, therefore, people are active and 6 hours sleep is enough for them but in the rest areas with polluted weather people need more sleep to be fresh.

To sum up, the writer’s conclusion cannot be taken to be correct since, as it was clarified in the body paragraphs above, it depends on a number of assumptions each of which is questionable and challenging. The writer can strengthen his assertion by providing firm evidences that the study is correct, other factors do not interfere in a business success, and attributing less sleep to the whole society is reasonable.