In the past, young people depended too much on their parents to make decisions for them; today young people are better able to make decisions about their own lives.

The few last decades are characterized by all momentous changes that have resulted in major differences between young people in the past and today. There is a controversial debate between people that whether youngsters in the past were more dependent on their parents or young people today are not able to make decisions on their own? In my opinion, young people today can decide on their future and life much better than youngsters in the past. In what follows, I will pinpoint my reasons to support my opinion.

The first point coming to my mind is that the advent of new technologies has provided extraordinary opportunities for youngsters today to become self-sufficient persons. In fact, there was a situation in the past that young people had to depend on their elders. In other words, if they even wanted to be separate persons, their condition would not allow them. To clarify this point, compare a person who wants to choose his major in a collage. Before, without the internet, all people had to get their information from the elders that had experience in this process, while today people can easily access first-hand information by surfing the internet. Besides, most of the young people in the past took their career from their parents and as a result they more relyed on their parents in other aspects of their life.

Another point which deserves some words here is that the consequences of some moral behaviors that were very prevail in the past societies had led that youngsters have not had autonomous personality. In fact, obedience was a criterion for measuring the amount of respect for elders. The more youngsters listen to their parent's words and became more obedient, it was concluded that the more they were respecting their parents. This issue was so bold that young people were dependent on their parents to make the decision for their marriage and select their love partner. There is anecdotal evidence. My grandmother said that she has married my grandfather since his father had made this decision.

Finally, education systems today are trying to raise confident and dependent people and they also encourage parents to respect their children's decision, it is obvious that in such an age, young people can make more confident decisions for their lives.

From what has been discussed, we can safely contend that youngsters today do not rely on their parents much and today's society is such that they can make decisions on their own easily.