Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Successful people try new things and take risks rather than only doing what they know how to do well.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Some people may hold the view that taking a risk and trying new things play a key role in reaching success. However, some others may take an opposite viewpoint and believe that it is better to plan carefully. From my own perspective, the first belief is true. In what follows, I will pinpoint the most outstanding reasons.

The first reason coming to mind to substantiate my standpoint is concerned with this issue that taking risk provides an opportunity to discover our talent. For example, when I was child and I wanted to learn swimming, I was very scared of water. However, my teacher motivated me to jump in the water. After a while, it turned out that I have a special talent for swimming so that I could win several swimming competitions.

Most of people believe that taking risk can lead to failure and therefore they prefer to stay in their safe zone, although this point of view is true, people with this opinion should consider the fact that risking and even failing gives us some valuable experiences that empower us and pave the way to achieve higher positions. A report from interviews with top 50 entrepreneurs conducted by one of the most reputable universities in Iran shows that 70% of them have experienced several serious failures during their career and these failures have provided the basis for their future success.

The last but not the least reason is from a psychological standpoint, when people try new things, they are rarely depressed. Because the thrill of experiencing new things break the everyday monotony. Imagine how exciting it can be to travel to an unknown land with so many cultural differences. Also, it is able to enter us into a world that we did not notice before.

From what has been discussed, we may safely reach the conclusion that taking risk has a lot of advantages. In other words, trying new things compared to having a constant routine has more positive effects on our life.