Workers are more satisfied when they have many different types of tasks to do during the workday than when they do similar tasks all day long.

Throughout history, a career has played a prevailing role in every individual’s life. In this regard, there is a longstanding discussion among academicians about how they could elevate the job satisfaction of employees. Therefore, some people are inclined toward the opinion that getting involved in various and different tasks can cause more happiness feeling in workers rather than when they do a constant and repeated work every day, whereas others hold exactly the opposite perspective. As far as, I am concerned, workers will feel much better when different tasks are assigned to them. The following paragraphs will illustrate my perspective.

The most important point to be mentioned is that doing different work has a significant and undeniable role in boosting people’s self-confidence, making people feel much better about themselves and their lives. Although some people may take an opposite viewpoint and believe that, the more various tasks people do, the more likely they are to face challenges, and therefore they have to work harder to tackle their problem. In my opinion, this can be seen as a positive light. Take a personal experience as an example. When I was in collage I worked as a part-time apprentice and soldered some electronic boards. After a while, this kind of constant and repeated work made me very tired. After my graduation, I employed in a research center as a researcher. You cannot imagine how positive I felt when I had moved from my first job to the second job since I would face a new challenge every day in my second job that made me try to solve it. In other words, I felt more fruitful and useful in this kind of job.

Furthermore, doing various tasks provides people the opportunity to improve their skills and therefore leads to feeling more secure in this competitive job market today. For example, the people equipped with different skills and experiences, are less concerned about their job security since they believed in their skills compared with someone that has done a certain and repeated work every day. In fact, a skillful person knows that if there is any problem that causes him to miss his job, he is able to find a new job easily. As a result, without worrying about his future work, he can enjoy his current job.

From what has been discussed, we can safely reach the conclusion that getting involved in various tasks in comparison with constant tasks has a significant effect on increasing the quality of people’s lives and it helps feel more satisfied with their lives.