Some parents offer their school-age children money for each high grade (mark) they get in school. Do you think this is a good idea?

Throughout history, education has played a prominent role in all societies. Hence, parents are always concerned about the education status of their children and therefore, they make every effort to guarantee a bright future for their children. In this regard, some people offer their school-age children money for every high grade they attain since they believe this reward can help school-age children to make more progress. However, other people may take the opposite viewpoint. In my opinion, the latter belief is true. In what follows, I will pinpoint some reasons to support my opinion.

The first point coming to my mind is that considering a reward for getting a high mark may cause to motivate students to try harder, but this reward can instill the belief that if they couldn't receive a high score, they would be the weak persons that are not able to follow their dreams. In fact, the scoring process and quantitative evaluation put pressure on the student that can cause to create irreparable damages, like losing their confidence. Hence, I strongly believe that parents should never contribute to increasing these pressures on their children by adding another benchmark.

Furthermore, it is essential for students to enjoy the learning process itself if they want to be useful and effective people for their society. Because it is proved that intrinsic motivations are much more effective and powerful than extrinsic ones since they are much more durable. In other words, continuous efforts usually lead to fundamental changes in the world and this is almost impossible if humans are accustomed to receiving extrinsic rewards from their childhood since finally one day these rewards will not exist.

Another important point to mention is that pushing the students to get high scores may cause students to enter a destructive competition that affects their social relationships. In addition, it may lead students to engage in immoral acts such as fraud. Hence, I strongly believe that parents should attempt to provide a peaceful and free stress place for their children rather than intensifying tensions among students.

From what has been discussed above, we can safely reach the conclusion that rewarding the students not only cannot assist students to improve their school works but also it can lead to affect their performance, negatively.