Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

It is important to know about events happening around the world, even if it is unlikely that they will affect your daily life.

It is obvious that in today's world the technological advancements pave the way to find out events happening around the world. But, a controversial question that is often raised regarding this issue is whether it is necessary to inform all this information. Some people believe that knowing about this information can help humans to increase their quality of life. However, others may take the opposite viewpoint and claim that they will affect our lives in a negative way. In my opinion, the latter belief is true. In what follows, I will pinpoint some reasons to support my perspective.

The first point coming to my mind is that today's world is surrounded by lots of terrible events such as wars, famine, accidents, and crimes. In fact, for today's people that have a lot of problems in their personal life, informing about world news may result in making them feel depressed and overwhelmed. According to a recent study conducted by one of the most reputable universities in our country, it is demonstrated that the more people are prone to world news, the more they feel not to be happy and frustrated.

Most of the people believe that there are more opportunities for people trying to inform about different events around the world. They mention that people should know the world well to be able to take proper actions. Although this point of view is true, people with this opinion should consider the fact that informing about whatever happening around the world may mislead people and create a sense of fear which results in paralyzing them from taking strides in their life. The experience of my close friend is a good demonstration of this issue. Despite she was such an intelligent and creative person that easily could apply and study at one of the best universities of the world, she was influenced by the bad news of terrorist groups like Daesh and Al Qaeda and as a result, she decided to stay her hometown close to her family. In other words, I strongly believe that people that are living in a safe environment even at the price of not knowing some things and not experiencing them will able much better to shape their future and follow their dreams.

The last but not least reason by which the claim is justified is that following the world news can lead to a waste of time in many people's lives. For instance, most of my co-workers spend a lot of time to discuss political issues rather than to do their job well.

From what has been discussed above, we can safely reach the conclusion that it is more beneficial for people to limit their source of information as it is difficult to be prone to bad news every second and not to be affected by them. In fact, today's world does not have much to teach us and we do not need to be aware of all the events in the world.