Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Teacher were more appreciated and valued by society in the past than they were nowadays.

It is undeniable that dramatic changes have happend in recent decades which have affected all aspects of human life. In this regard, some people believe that teachers were more respected in the past compared to nowadays. However, other may take an opposite viewpoint. In my opinion, the first belief is true. In what follows, I will demonstrate my perspective.

The first point coming to my mind is that the only source of information in the past was the teachers and therefore, they were very respected by the people. In other words, today with the advent of technology all people can access different information from over the world and hence the teachers play a less important role in human's life. For instance, in our country, Iran, students have to pass a tough exam to enter collages. In the past, all students attempted to find a skillful tutor for their specialized lessons like mathematics, physics, biology and so on. on those days, it was so difficult for teachers to find free time for teaching since the demand for their services was very high. In contrast, today modern technologies have helped students to access any kind of information they need very easily and therefore, the rate of valuation is decreased automatically.

Another reason which deserves some words here that one of the most focuses of traditional education systems was on respecting the elders and teachers. However, nowadays modern education systems are more person-centered and they encourage students to not obey others and to follow their ideas and dreams. Hence, it is obvious that such a person cannot respect their teachers like before since he/she wants to follow his/her opinion. For example, in our country, it is compulsory for students to wear a veil from elementary school. In the past, students obeyed this law easily because they thought it is a kind of disrespect to their teachers if they didn't listen to their words, while today students oppose this law easily since they have learned that they do not have to satisfy others at any cost.

From what has been discussed above, we can reach safely the conclusion that things changed so that teachers today are less rappriciated rather than past.