In the past, young people depended too much on their parents to make decisions for them; today young people are better able to make decisions about their own lives.

Nowadays, an increasing number of people are concerned about the young people's ability to make decisions about their own lives. However, whether this ability today is much better than it was in the past is a controversial issue. My view is that today young people are better able to make decisions about their own lives than in the past, not more depending on their parents to make decisions for them.

First, it is obvious that today young people have more ways and resource to learn more knowledge and information than before, which contributes to the improvement of the ability of the young people to make decisions for themselves. This is because with the development of the information technology and the widespread usage of telephones and laptops, more and more young people have the access to the information they need for their lives and could make choices more independently. So, in this respect, nowadays, the young people are much better to make decisions about their own lives for themselves.

Moreover, to some extent, the parents today may not do better than their kids on searching and getting the information that they need. For example, when facing a problem, taking a problem in the textbook as an example, the parents would tend to find the solutions from the books while the kids would try to search the answers in the Internet, the more convenient and updated way to get more correct and in time solutions. This difference usually comes from the old thoughts of parents, that the telephones and the Internet are just the distraction and would induce their children to play games and even enchanted in the games, causing their masks fall down.

This is not to say that children today do not need the helps and suggestions of their parents and could make their decisions totally by themselves. Of cause, just like in the past, kids are always relatively naive, compared with their parents. This results into the easy-making decisions of the children, which are usually unreasonable and even harmful for their lives. At this moment, parents' opinions become important and should be taken into consideration by the young people. But kids do not need to agree all the opinions of their parents since their opinions may sometime be too outdated.

In sum, we should encourage young people today to make their decisions by themselves instead of relying on their parents to make decisions for them. Meanwhile, we should not ignore that children should also listen to their parents' thoughts and experience when making decisions. By doing this, we could make sure that young people could make better and more comprehensive decisions for their own lives.