People attend college or university for many different reasons (for example, new experiences, career preparation, increased knowledge). Why do you think people attend college or university?

Thanks to the new human civilization, education is now available for most people. However, it seems to be controversial. While some psychologists believe that is not essential for every individual, some others argue that it is a valuable chance. In my view, going to the university is not obligatory for every person, but I think it has got many beneficial aspects which make that so effective to join.

First and foremost, going to university expands the circle of people's friends. As a result, having more friends gives people a sense of attachment to a particular community. Furthermore, this particular sense prevents students from prevalent types of mental illnesses such as depression, anxiety, alcoholism, etc. For instance, when I went to the university for the first time, I did not have any good friends to trust and share my feelings and emotions with him; respectively, I felt depressed most of the time; besides, I was suffering from solitude. Nevertheless, the university provided me a unique opportunity to find suitable friends, and I used it as I found many good friends.

Second, university trains students not only for their lessons but also for their future life. As an exemplification, making different scientific project demands outstanding teamwork skills, and every student learns that unconsciously after a series of trials and errors. Besides, interaction with a wide variety of people about different kinds of topics teaches students how to manage their relationships with others and control themselves in different situations, more importantly, how to express their emotions healthily. To prove that, new research has shown that people who have had an academic education in their lives will have more stable relationships with their partners in the future, and it means they have an excellent ability to lead their relationships on the correct path.

In conclusion, according to the reasons mentioned above, I believe people attend university to find new friends and build precious skills for their whole lives.