Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Newspapers and magazines are the best ways to learn about a foreign country.

With the advent of new means for information circulation, many facets of our lives have been changed. For example, thanks to newspapers, magazines and the internet, people can become informed of every region globally, and it does not matter how far those regions are. While some economists argue that newspapers and magazines are the best way to learn about different countries, some others play devil’s advocate and state that nowadays, the internet and other facilities are more efficient to be used as information resources. In my view, newspapers and magazines are not reliable sources of information, and we cannot trust them for two main reasons.

First and foremost, many countries of the world have a dictatorship regime, and because of that, their government has absolute power over information and news sources means. Dictatorship regimes do not let other people notice what is happening in their countries. Therefore, because I live in one of those countries, public newspapers and magazines are not safe and trusted enough to become informed about foreign countries.

Finally, due to the fast pace of the world change, newspapers and magazines cannot provide up-to-date enough information to their readers. For example, my family and I wanted to travel to Mexico two years ago, and we started to search for their cultures, food and Mexico's climate. At first, we read an article about its climate in a newspaper. In that newspaper, the climate of Mexico was described as an arid desert which led us to alter our decision toward traveling to Mexico. Nevertheless, some years later, we realized that the article we read just wrote about well-known areas of Mexico and not all of that since many regions and places in Mexico were not found and explored since then. As a result, a newspaper disinformed us because it was not up to date enough.

To put it in a nutshell, I claimed that newspapers and magazines are not valid and reliable resources by which we can obtain new information about foreign countries for two chief reasons. Firstly, many dictatorship governors use censorship in order to rule people and intensify their power. Secondly, newspapers and magazines are not up-to-date enough to provide trusted information to readers.