Do you agree or disagree with the following statement Newspapers and magazines are the best ways to learn about a foreign country
In the modern era, people’s tendency towards immigrating to different countries
has increased because of different purposes like embarking on a new academic or
occupational life. One of the most urgent problems for prospective immigrants is how
they can get familiar with different countries and, accordingly, choose their destination.
In this regard, people’s opinions are divided as to whether newspapers and magazines are
the best way to learn about different aspects of a foreign country or not. Despite the fact
that newspapers and magazines can provide people with beneficial insights about a
country, it is my firm conviction that reading local newspapers and magazines is not the
best feasible option. To support this, there are several reasons, two of which are going to
be aptly explored in the following.
First and foremost, the reason why it is not a prudent course of action for people
to use newspapers and magazines as their best source to get to know a country lies in the
fact that they do not provide people with accurate news or of pieces of information. Most
of reporters are not unbiased enough to pay painstaking attention to the completeness,
accuracy, and impartiality of the news due their inclination towards a specific party. As a
result, they may eliminate some parts of the news, exaggerate some details, and in some
cases, fabricate some stories in favor of the party. According to statistics, more than
seventy percent of people in Islamic Republic of Iran, flatly reject that the newspapers
reflect the real circumstances of the society. On the contrary, they believe that the
newspapers and magazines accentuate the pieces of information which are in favor of the
Iranian Government. Moreover, magazines and newspapers need money to stay in
business so they may disregard the importance of adhering to moral standards and may
change the contents to escalate the number of readers for economic interests
Another worthwhile reason to be mentioned is that travelling to a foreign country,
rather than reading some pieces of information, is said to be the best way to learn a lot
of intricate details about that country. Generally speaking, in order to find the best way
to work out a purpose, people should explore different ways and adopt on the ones which
seem more sensible. According to sociologists, the best way to learn about a subject, no matter what it is, is by gaining firsthand experience and information. However, in
newspapers and magazines the publishers tell the stories using their own angles and
perspectives, which is second hand experience and cannot be beneficial as much. Take
my personal experience as a compelling example, a couple of years ago I had made up my
mind to immigrate to Germany to pursue my studies. According to magazines and
newspapers, German people seemed very inhospitable, but I took a short trip to Germany
to get to know the country better, and that was enough for me to understand that I was
totally wrong about the Germans’ personality traits. Had I not gained firsthand
experience, I would have chosen another country to pursue my studies in.
In summary of what has been illustrated and discussed in detail, it is a foregone
conclusion that newspapers and magazines are not the best possible option for leaning
about a country. The newspapers inaccuracy, coupled with the importance of one’s
firsthand experience, is the reason which strengthens my claim.