People attend college or university for many different reasons (for example, new experiences, career preparation, increased knowledge). Why do you think people attend university or college? Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer

People attend university or college for various reasons. Some of the major reasons include but are not restricted to gaining knowledge in one's area of interest, instilling social skills, expanding their horizons by exploring new concepts and for the overall development of their personality.

In my opinion, the supreme reason that an individual attends college or university is to enhance his/her skills in a particular domain. For example, a person who is interested in programming will attend a course providing classes related to Computer Science. This will help the person to gain the required programming knowledge.

Along with that, he/she gets to learn the latest trends or concepts in that domain and perform research in the same. Being in an environment with fellow students interested in the same domain keeps the curiosity alive.

As the aforementioned point suggests, being and working with fellow students also helps in imbibing the spirit of teamwork in individuals. People understand the importance of collaborating in a team and bringing out efficient solutions. It also teaches other soft skills like interacting with a crowd and handling various events.

Lastly, going to college or university helps in the development of an individual's overall personality. It develops numerous values and provides various new experiences which aid in this development.