People benefit more from traveling in their own country than from traveling to foreign countries.

For some people travelling inside the country is more favorable than going overseas.

However, in my opinion, trips to other countries have more advantages for individuals. I feel this way for three reasons: it broadens a person's horizons, provides an opportunity to develop intercultural skills, and even inspires to learn new languages.

First and foremost, through exploring other countries a person may broaden his or her mind. Traveling overseas allows us to acquire knowledge about different cultures, and get the experience of visiting the famous landmarks that definitely have a positive impact on a person's way of thinking, as, for example, it is believed that travelling may develop imagination. In addition, people can try various cuisines, thus letting them discover new recipes.

Secondly, while travelling abroad a person can meet new friends from cultures different from theirs and thus develop intercultural skills through communication with them. Due to globalization, when a lot of companies hire people from different countries and that have various cultural backgrounds, such skills not only become of high demand by the companies, but can also help one to adapt in a diversified corporate life.

Finally, travelling overseas can improve the existing level of the foreign language or even encourage one to learn a new one. Drawing from my personal experience, the trips to english-speaking countries helped me overcome the language barrier that I had before. Being in the situation when nobody understands you forces you to start speaking the foreign language no matter how shy or anxious you may feel. Besides, a visit to another country may introduce you to a language that this country speaks. You may hear how it sounds, find it appealing, and wish to learn it.

In conclusion, even though travelling inside their own country may be beneficial for a person, I personally believe that traveling outside of it provides more for at least three reasons that I mentioned above: it may broaden one’s mind, develop skills and motivate to learn new or improve their knowledge of other languages.