People may become homesick when they stay in a new place after a while; in your opinion, what will be the best way to ease nostalgia for the newcomers?

1. do or eat the things previously done or eaten at hometown

2. contact old friends at hometown

3. participate in special activities and have special food

4. make new friends

If the aim is to ease nostalgia, what will that method be? Although some believe eating things previously eaten at hometown, contacting old friends, or participating in special activities stand as priority choices, it is making new friends contribute the most benefits for people.

It is certainly an advantage if eating food from hometown, because it makes people think they are in their hometown. However, it must be noticed that sometimes people cannot find the exact same food as in home. For example, for a Taiwanese, eating beef noodle is a sense of relief when studying abroad, nevertheless, it is difficult to find beef noodle in Europe. Besides, even if they actually find similar meal, it will make them become more homesick, because those food let people think about their life in hometown. The same could be said to contacting old friends. We will definitely speak about our life in the past with old friends. It may let us cannot forget the happy hours in hometown and become more homesick.

It is so argued that participating in special activities in the new environment can let us integrate to new environment and forget about things in the past. The real picture of this, however, is that when going to a new place, assimilate into new place is difficult owing to language or culture differences.

Making new friends, however, paints a brighter picture. Just like joining in special activities, people can easily forget their life in hometown. Unlike participating in new events, talking with new friends enhance our foreign language ability. Thus, it makes us get used to new environment faster. Outshining the other choices, by introducing their own friends, makes new friends can let us meet new people quickly.

So beneficial is making new friends that it must be taken into more serious consideration than the other alternatives. It is this choices let us enjoy benefits seen in other pursuits, and only seen in making new friends.