people should ask for advice before taking any important decision do you agree or disagree

​The choices we make today can profoundly influence our future. Personally, feel that we should never make important decisions on our own. I feel this way for two reasons, which I will explore in the following essay.

​First of all, while we might think our lives are unique, there is always someone close to us that has been in a similar situation. By consulting someone who has made a similar decision in the past, we can more carefully weigh our options. My personal experience is a compelling example of this. When I graduated from high school five years ago I was forced to choose between enrolling in either a trade school or a university. I knew that a trade school would lead to more reliable employment in the future, but I also knew that a university would provide a more stimulating intellectual environment. I did not think that my old-fashioned and practical-minded parents had struggled with the same dilemma in their youth, but when I talked it out with my father I found out that despite his conservative nature he had considered studying the liberal arts. As we talked about his motivations, and some of the regrets associated with his ultimate choice, I was able to more fully consider all of my own options. ​

​Secondly, when we make decisions alone, we are more likely to make rash and impulsive moves. Talking about a problem with another person takes time, and thus our decision making process is slowed down. For example, when I decided to buy a new car last year I made purchase the very same day that the idea popped into my head. It seemed like a wonderful idea at the time because gas prices were low and there was plenty of parking available on campus. However, when I told one of my classmates about my purchase she reminded me that gas prices always shoot up when we least expect them to, and that parking was only easy to find at that time because it was summer vacation and many students were away. Had I talked about these issues before buying the car, I might have reconsidered whether or not it was a wise idea.

​In conclusion, I strongly believe that it is never a smart idea to make decisions without first talking to someone about them. This is because there is always someone in our life who has had to deal with a similar situation, and because talking about issues prevents us from acting impulsively.