People today spend too much money on clothing to improve their appearance

In my opinion, most people do not spend too much money on clothes. Some people certainly do spend a lot of money on clothing, but most people don't spend too much.

One reason is that clothing is a necessity rather than a luxury item. People need to wear clothing. In most places people live, the climate makes clothing a necessity for keeping warm or dry or protected from the sun enough to be comfortable. Most people must spend enough money to buy clothing that covers them sufficiently. In addition, there are social standards for wearing clothing that must be met. For example, many businesses will refuse service to people who are not wearing enough clothing. And if anyone tries to walk around without clothing, they generally get in trouble. So, most clothing is bought out of need and meeting needs is not wasteful.

Secondly, the clothing that people do buy beyond what they strictly need is often used to send important social messages. We have sayings like, "the clothes make the man," and "dress for the job you want." People judge others by how they are dressed. We make judgements about a person's job, economic status and even their political beliefs based on the clothes that they wear. In general, this means that spending a lot of money on clothing tends to make a person more well-regarded socially than if they had spent less money. So it is hard to say that a person has spent too much money on clothing without knowing how much social benefit they are getting from the way they are dressed.

So, because people buy clothing out of necessity and because clothing sends social messages which can be very important, I think that most people do not spend too much money on clothing.