People who develop many different skills are more successful than people who focus on one skill only.

We live in an era where we are judged not only based on the amount of different skills that we have acquired but also the degree to which we are good at them. As humans beings as we evolve our needs evolve with us. We have evolved from species that only needed hunting and gathering skills, to animals who have mastered their environment. Although, some argue that knowing about numerous skills can help us throughout our lives but I think it is better to master one skill.

As human beings we have mastered our environments. We have developed sophisticated infrastracture so much that we hardly ever face any problems in traveling or daily needs such as water or heating. Hence, we do not have to develop skills that have become redundant due to our well-developed infrastructure. Skills such as horse riding, shelter building, hunting from wild, etc. are now irrelevant.

In addition to that, the elevation of quality of life has resulted in people pursuing skills in which they are more interested. The range of skills that you might occassionally need have widened extremely. Since we cannot develop enough skills in most of them, you can ask others to do it for you. Hence, when you need for a particular thing to be done which requires special skills, you can access people who are better at them.

Moreover, the more you are better at a certain thing the more money you can make off of it. Developing an essential skill to the level of expertise so that people pay you for using them is another reason for why you have to master one skill. By making more money from the skill that you have mastered, you can hire well-skilled people for the tasks that you need.

To conclude, it is not important that how many skills one has learned but how good they are at what they do. Although, there is a high possibility that at some point in our lives, we stumble upon a situation where we wish we had acquired skills in doing certain tasks. Though, we may wish we had those skills but during the majority of our lives, doing a single task in expertise level is way better. There is a saying that says: "Jack of all trades, master of none!" So, we don't have to be a "Jack of all trades" but we have to "master of one".