Pets are considered as family members.
Although the argument has been made that money spent on pets could better be directed to
programs that provide assistance for needy people, I agree that pets should be treated like family
members because they live in our homes and interact with us as family members do. Often parents
allow children to have pets in order to teach them to be responsible. By feeding, walking, and grooming
a dog, children learn to be dependable and kind. Parents expect their children to take care of the pets
as if they were members of the family in order to learn these valuable lessons. For many children, a dog
or a kitten is also a best friend and a wonderful way to learn how to treat a new brother or sister when
the family expands.
Besides the friendship that children enjoy with animals, pets can substitute for the absence of other
family members. Sometimes a couple who is unable to have children will adopt pets and treat them like
babies. They shower the love on their cats that they might have provided a child, and receive affection
and companionship in return. Many people who are living alone enjoy the companionship of a pet
instead of loved ones who are at a distance or have passed away. The pet becomes a family member
for these people and deserves the same kind of treatment that a family member would receive.
Many articles have appeared in the popular press citing the benefits of pets to the disabled and
the elderly. In addition to the usual services that pets may provide, such as bringing objects to their
owners or helping a vision-impaired owner to walk in unfamiliar surroundings, there is evidence that
pets actually extend the life expectancy of their owners. In a real sense, these pets are caring for their
owners like family members would, and, for this reason, they should be treated like family.
At every stage in life, we interact with our pets in the same ways that we interact with the family.
Children, young married couples, and elderly people have reason to treat their pets like family members.