Plastic bags are terrible for the environment. They should be banned everywhere.

It is critically important that we save the environment from the terrible effects of plastic bags. Personally, I believe that plastic bags should be banned entirely across the world. I feel this way for two reasons, which I will explore in the following essay.

To begin with, plastic is not a biodegradable substance. If we burry plastic under the ground, then it would take millions of years to dismantle such a horrible kind of material. After the industrial revolution, there had been a significant rise in the usage of plastic. More and more companies are involved in packaging their products in plastic bags so that people could be attracted easily. My personal example is a compelling illustration of this. My mother used to utilize a cloth bag when I was a kid. With the advent of new malls into my city, whenever my mother used to go for shopping, she would not carry her cloth bag. Rather, she would expect the mall staff to provide a plastic bag to carry the goods. This went on for more than a decade until the government imposed ban on plastic bags.

Furthermore, plastic bags are harmful to our health. Whenever we put food items such as vegetables or partially eaten food into a plastic bag, the particles of plastic get binded with the food. If someone consumes the contaminated food, then they can probably develop cancer. Such harmful effects are not known by public, and therefore, giant food manufacturing companies are taking benefit of the ignorance of people. Banning plastic bags is something which can be proved to be a nightmare for large businesses. Food manufacturing companies does not care for the problems caused by plastic to fulfill their goal of earning money out of destroying the planet and playing with the health of common people. For instance, after the ban imposed by the government, the officials have to create a portal where the companies can register to get their packaging verified. By doing so, they can continue to use plastic in their packaging if they have an approval from the government. So, we can see that the banning of plastic was only for name sake. At the end, money is something that matters and to oppose such kind of attitudes, banning and boycotting plastic is the only way left for the general public. It could be done by spreading awareness about the issue.

In conclusion, I strongly believe that plastic bags should be banned. This is because plastic pollutes the environment and it has harmful effects on our health.