Playing and Winning

Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Playing a game is fun only when you win.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Most people place great emphasis on winning a game. Some people are delighted and enjoy only when they conquer a game. As far as I am concerned, I strongly disagree with this notion because more than that, games assuage stresses and improve many people’s skills. This essay will provide further aspects and examples to support this idea in the subsequent paragraphs.

First and foremost, the main purpose of playing a game is to enjoy. People should play games for alleviating their heavy stresses from most daily problems. Majority of games create to enjoy with their stories or missions, whether the results are wins or loses. Furthermore, when people play games with others, it develops a splendid communicating between people. If individuals too concentrated on victories, they will neglect these enjoyments. To illustrate this, I enrolled my alma mater’s soccer club when I was a secondary school student. I obsessively practiced every day in order to win the school’s soccer tournament. Eventually, I am tired and distressed to play soccer, and playing soccer is not fun anymore. Playing will become an unenjoyable thing if I only desired to win a game.

Secondly, another fact that supports my standpoint is that games are capable of developing many people’s skills. Clearing the games’ missions, such as chess or sudoku, requires players to analyze strategies and practice skills. Additionally, improving knowledge and skills by playing a game is efficient because people learn and play simultaneously. For instance, according to the research from the Chulalongkorn University in Bangkok, people who often play game tend to have a good critical thinking skill and a memory skill. This is because game like chess leads players to design sophisticated strategies and remember many tactics. For this reason, these skills from playing games are beneficial and more essential than the game’s result.

In conclusion, I am of the opinion that winning is not important and not only way to make people enjoy a game. This is due to the fact that playing games has a main role to relieve people’s stresses and practice diverse skills.