progress is always good
s progress always good? Scientific progress brings us many conveniences and advanced
machines, such as computers, automobiles, and so on. Progress seems to have made life more
simple and more comfortable. But if we analyze it carefully, we will find that progress is not
always good.
Modern industry brings us more convenient life. But at the same time, some problems appear. For
example, "the green-house effect" is a very serious problem that scientists try to solve it as early
as possible. It increases the earth temperature and some icebergs melt and the sea level becomes
higher and higher gradually. Maybe someday the sea will swallow some big cities nearby the sea.
Progress enhances the product efficiency, but it also brings us an other serious problem-pollution.
Pollution is so serious that ecological balance is damaged and many animals and plants lose their
living environment and become extinct eventually. The air is polluted and it is not suitable for
people. The water is also polluted and people are facing deficiency of drinking water in some
countries.
Progress makes the speed of life faster and faster because of the usage of computers and
automatic machines. People have to work faster than before and it makes them nervous. More
and more physical and psychological problems disturb people's life. Many people do not have time
for recreation.
From the above statements, it can be concluded that progress is not always good. It has its own
negative influences on our life. Maybe those problems can be solved by more progress.