Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Television advertising directed towards young children (aged two to five) should not be allowed.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

At early ages, children should focus on activities that benefit them, such as play in the playground, learn the colors, and little by little develop their brain. I believe that television should be restricted to children between ages two to five for two reasons which I will explore in the following essay.

First, all the time television is showing strong content, such as action movies, violence, and crime. At that ages, kids are vulnerable and are able to stick in their brain everything they watch on TV. As a result, sometimes kids get traumatized and they cannot sleep at night. For instance, I do not allow to my five years old kid watch any kind of television, nor advertising. He is very sensitive and always is scare. Last night he entered my room and the TV was on with an action movie the scene was violent and my son started crying and he was shaking, I tried to calm himself until he falls asleep. The next day he was very scared because he did not understand was had happened. As we can see, Television should not be allowed to young kids.

Secondly, advertising also has strong content. Sometimes even for adults are difficult to understand. Most of them have sexual content and are transmitted at a time where the kids are still awake. For example, marihuana advertising where it is said that the drug is used for medicinal purpose. I disagree with that because how is possible television is transmitting that kind of ad where kids are still awake. Aso, advertising is used to selling products such as cigarettes. As a result, kids are learning since they are young a few bad habits that are prejudicial for them. That is why I believe that television advertising must not be allowed for young children.

In conclusion, parents should take into consideration that television advertising would not improve their children life, but could deteriorate their growth and their positive way to think. Furthermore, television ads directed towards young children should not be allowed.