Prompt: do you agree or disagree with the following statement:

“It is better to use printed material such as books and articles to do research than it is to use the internet”.

It’s critically important for students to use the best available resources when they want to do research. Some of the students prefer to use online resources from the internet while the others prefer to use printed materials and papers. In my experience, I disagree with the prompt and I’d prefer using the internet for my researches because it’s fast, environment friendly, and it’s easy to carry the data.

To begin with, the internet is fast and handy. I can use the internet whenever and wherever I am. For example, because of corona pandemic other students and I have to be away from each other and from university too. I used to do my research at university but now that I’m away from university, I have not stopped doing research and I just keep up my research with the internet. There are so many reliable resources such as Elsevier, Springer that I can buy the articles I want and read them. So using the internet is easy and handy

Secondly, whenever I use the internet I use less paper. It’s so much better for our environment to consume less paper and with these little steps we could save our planet. For example, I can remember when the university was open, I bought all of the articles from university or bookstores. I read the articles and when I was done with them, I just threw them in trash because they became useless after reading. So by using the internet we can help to save our planet

Finally, printed materials such as books and articles are heavy. It’s really difficult to put them to backpack and move them from point A to point B; but with using the internet, I am able to download all of the books and papers and store them on my tablet. A tablet is much lighter than so many books. The internet makes things lighter.

As I have illustrated, doing research by internet is far useful than printed materials.