Question:

Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Imagine that you are in a classroom or a meeting. The teacher or the meeting leader says something incorrect. In your opinion, which of the following is the best thing to do?

1)Interrupt and correct the mistake right away

2)Wait until the class or meeting is over and the people are gone, and then talk to the teacher or meeting leader

3)Say nothing

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

As is known to all, everyone is possible to make mistakes and teachers and leaders are not always right. There might be some time that they offer certain wrong information in class but students action may vary when this happen. It might appear to some that it is the best to correct the mistake immediately during the class, while others tend to remain silent. Although these two reaction make sense to some extent, they should be examined critically in the real situation. I hold the opinion that it would be better to wait until the class ends and then remind the teacher or leader.

First and foremost, mentioning about the mistakes to professors and leaders is significant during study or work for the reason that it can help them correct those mistakes. Professors and leaders with some wrong beliefs tend to mislead their students or employees which is even possible to lead to great obstacle during studying as well as work. After hearing the teachers' wrong explanation of the knowledge, most of the students without noticing it will continue to studying, but may fail to understand the material during the future study. They might even hold this wrong understanding for a life time if someone does not notice it. On the other hand, workers of their leaders' wrong information as right one are also possible to meet other difficulties during work, such as the failure of implementation of some projects.

In addition, correcting the mistakes after class and meeting can prevent embarrassing situation, showing respect to both the teachers and leaders. Take my experience as an example, which might seem to be common during the class. Once when I was attending a biology lecture, a student pointed out the professor's mistake immediately. The situation, however, happened to be embarrassing. The teacher did not want to admit this mistake in class but my classmate insisted him doing so, which is a little disrespectful to the teacher in my opinion. If this student chose to talk with the professor after the class, the result would be different.

Nevertheless, some may argue that correcting the mistake immediately can avoid holding the wrong notion rapidly, like the wrong knowledge which interfere students' understanding. And other would contend that remaining silent is a wiser choice. Ironically, either of these choices are extreme. Integrating these two reaction is a rather rational and feasible way, which not not only correct the mistake, but also avoid embarrassing.